The 7 Chakras are energy centers that allow energy to flow properly in our body.

The term “chakra” means “wheel” in Sanskrit and is derived from a conception of Kundalinî yoga.

When energy is blocked in one or more Chakras, it often leads to illness or lack of energy. That is why it is important to understand what each Chakra represents and what can be done to support them and maintain the proper circulation of energy flows.

Our Chakras directly impact our health, emotions and physical reality, and vice versa.

Meditation is a practice designed to balance all our Chakras. Some yoga postures and listening to Tibetan singing bowls are also conducive to an adequate functioning of the Chakras.

The 7 Chakras:

1. The Root Chakra

This 1st Chakra represents our foundation, safety and survival, it is essential.

  • Location: at the base of the spine, at the level of the coccyx.
  • Emotional issues: basic needs such as financial self-sufficiency, money and food.
  • Color: red

2. The Sacred Chakra

It represents the gateway to our life force and refers to our ability to be creative, to accept the “other” and new experiences.

  • Location: at the lower abdomen, about five centimeters below the navel.
  • Emotional issues: the feeling of living in abundance, well-being, pleasure and intimacy.
  • Color: orange

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra

It reflects our ability to be confident and to exercise control over our lives. It is a Chakra of communication with the outside world.
  • Location: upper part of the abdomen, in the stomach area.
  • Emotional issues: self-confidence and self-esteem.
  • Color: yellow

4. The Heart Chakra

It represents our ability to love ourselves and others.
  • Location: on the chest, just above the heart.
  • The emotional stakes: love, joy and inner peace.
  • Color: green

5. The Throat Chakra

It is related to our ability to communicate and express ourselves.
  • Location: throat.
  • Emotional issues: communication, personal expression through feelings and truth, holding secrets.
  • Color: blue.

6. The Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra is related to our ability to concentrate and see bigger.
  • Location: on the forehead between the eyes.
  • Emotional issues: intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think clearly and make decisions.
  • Color: indigo

7. The Crown Chakra

The highest Chakra represents our ability to be spiritually connected. It is the synthesis and outcome of all the Chakras.
  • Location: top of the skull.
  • The emotional stakes: inner and outer beauty, connection to spirituality and pure happiness.
  • Color: purple.

Chakras: opened or closed?

When a chakra is well opened, its qualities are expressed in an optimal way. When it is closed, troubles appear.
When our chakras work properly, they rotate and allow energy to flow up the spine. However, our chakras can become hyperactive, underactive, overly opened or blocked, and this can affect us physically and emotionally.

1. Root Chakra

  • Qualities: stability, self-confidence, courage.
  • Physical disorders: circulatory, sciatic, anemia problems.
  • Psychic disorders: selfishness, lack of confidence, depression.

2. Sacred Chakra

  • Qualities: sexuality, vitality and creativity.
  • Physical disorders: genital, renal and urinary disorders..
  • Psychic disorders: anger, frustration, aggressiveness, jealousy.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Qualities: balance, spontaneity.
  • Physical disorders: digestion disorders, diabetes, obesity.
  • Psychic disorders: irritability, nightmares, lack of self-respect.

4. Heart Chakra

  • Qualities: centre of love and harmony.
  • Physical disorders: tension, heart problems, back pain.
  • Psychic disorders: coldness, difficulty in establishing contact.

5. Throat Chakra

  • Qualities: communication, productivity, expressiveness.
  • Physical disorders: throat, tooth, hearing problems.
  • Psychic disorders: blockages, shyness, fear of expressing opinions, speech disorders.

6. Third Eye Chakra

  • Qualities: imagination, intuition, wisdom.
  • TPhysical disorders: headaches, eye disorders, diseases of the nervous system.
  • Psychic disorders: lack of memory and concentration.

7. Crown Chakra

  • Qualities: spirituality, self-realization.
  • Physical disorders: headaches, chronic diseases, paralysis, immune deficiency.
  • Psychic disorders: escape from reality, depression, difficulty in deciding.

The relationship between meridians and Chakras

Root Chakra: Stomach, Liver, Gallbladder, Kidney, Heart, Lung.
Sacred Chakra: Bladder, Kidneys.
Solar Plexus Chakra: Rate/Pancreas, Stomach, Liver, Gallbladder.
Heart Chakra: Stomach, Liver, Gallbladder, Kidney, Heart, Lung.
Throat Chakra: Heart, Lung, Triple Heater.
Third Eye Chakra: Triple Heater, Liver, Gallbladder.
Crown Chakra: The 12 meridians.

Yogadvisor offers you a video to balance your chakras in 15 min.💫 Feeling your chakras comes with practice… so patience: 🙂 : 🙏

Written by Léa Cassagnavère

Leave a Reply